One World, One Soul

I had a dream 2 nights ago, I had a dream of one world with one soul with billions of hearts pumping together as one, one vision, one nation all with one goal, a better world. My experience with the elderly gentleman the other day, he was there on my path for a reason and now amberfireinus’ post God doesn’t make ugly ducklings just makes it solid in my mind.

Chatting to a friend yesterday, he spoke with such sadness for the state of the world and our nation. So often we can feel as though we are the only ones that dream of a world without hunger, without racism, without sexism, homophobia, xenophobia, without war, street sleeping, orphans, the list can go on forever. Yesterday was a heavy day, tears forever in my eyes, that elderly gentleman broke my heart into a million different pieces all scattered around my soul.

I’ve been lying in bed for what felt like hours since then, feels as though I haven’t slept in days. It bothered me that so many people praised me when I asked not to be, it bothered me that perhaps people didn’t see the true reason for me posting that story. Then I thought that perhaps by my action of posting what happened the other day it gave others hope that there was indeed more people with compassion that walked the earth, perhaps they saw that through all of us there is hope, then I passed out…

The dream, one world, one soul, white light, serenity and a smile… I so badly want to shout from the rooftops telling everyone of us that there is hope in this world, that this world is not such a bad place with all of us in it, you and me, we can do this, each and everyone of us can make a difference, we’re not alone, the world is full of people who care, who want to make a difference, who want to help the world.

Perhaps it is but a dream, but I’m going to hold it close no matter what anyone says. I get a lot of “stick” for wanting to make this world a better place, people say its impossible, that my dreams are pointless. I know I need to keep the dream alive but I do cry for those who have no hope, it saddens me beyond words and so I have run out for now, perhaps just a little bit of sleep will come my way…

I hear a baby crying,
A sad sound, a lonely sound.
I want to take her in my arms,
And then I dry away all her tears.

I see a boy who’s frightened,
A young boy with old eyes,
I long to say you’re welcome here,
You can be happy now that you’re warm.

We’re all a part of one world,
We all can share the same dream…
And if you just reach out to me,
Then you will find deep down inside….
I’m just like you,

Loud voices raised in anger,
Speak harsh words, such cruel words,
Why do they speak so selfishly?
When we have got so much we can share.

So let your hearts be open,
And reach out with all your love,
There are no strangers now,
They are our brothers now,
And we are one.

We’re all apart of one world,
We all can share the same dream,
And if you just reach out to me,
Then you will find, deep down inside,
I’m just like you….

We’re all apart of one world,
We all can share the same dream,
And if you just reach out to me,
Then you will find, deep down inside…

I’m just like you….
I’m just like you….

18 thoughts on “One World, One Soul

  1. This is such a beautiful thought… I love it. For all of us to trace ourselves back to that one black woman in africa genetically…spiritually to god, the earth and each other.

  2. You are an emphathist like me. I’ts ashame though, because our tears are truly not a solution, but perhaps they are. Maybe, if we put it into consciousness, the universe will hear us and things will start moving together to make peace. But to be on the safe side, it’s always good to have a back-up plan and give a little of our time, our money, our words, pass the stories on, etc. Step by step, brick by brick, the dream will be realized my dear child.

    BTW, thought you might be interested in seeing this video, if you have not already seen it.

    Neuroanatomist Jill Bolte Taylor had an opportunity few brain scientists would wish for: One morning, she realized she was having a massive stroke. As it happened — as she felt her brain functions slip away one by one, speech, movement, understanding — she studied and remembered every moment. This is a powerful story about how our brains define us and connect us to the world and to one another.

    The link is here . . . http://www.ted.com/talks/view/id/229

    Peace, Light and Love,
    Cordieb.

  3. Aye — I stand with ya on the one world, one soul thought! Its high time people really relflect the real truth that surround them.! We are truly one world!
    Yawwwn its 5:30am and I am up and dunno what I am doing..but as soon as I finish commentin will jump right back into bed!

  4. I am a Christian, and one of the things that amazes me most about Jesus is he touched lepers.

    I just read your post and the previous one it referred to, and all I can think of is how, no matter how cold or hungry or or sick or physically hurting a person is, his or her greatest need is something any and all of us have to give: dignity.

    Thank you for sharing you heart.
    Blessings, Robert

  5. Amberfireinus – Thanks for your kind words and that is my dream

    Deeps – Shukriya dost, we are one world and so my project begins πŸ™‚ go back to bed and polish you halo!

  6. Cordie – thanks for your comment, I moderate all posts with links because of the amount of spam I get, will tweak it a little I see the spam blocker has become a control freak! Thank you for your kind words, it strokes my hope and dreams for a better world and makes them want to grow πŸ™‚ Will go look at that link asap, thanks for sharing it! As you say Peace, Light and Love Mwah! πŸ™‚

  7. Robert, how true! Dignity and respect, one and the same thing at the end of the day, it crosses all religions, all colours, all societies “generalisims”… Thanks for your comment and I am glad you read the God doesn’t make ugly ducklings post, for me it is one of the most beautiful things and has touched my soul forever! Aud

  8. It’s both. It is but a dream. It is impossible. The bad things in the world are a result of the human nature. Just look at two little kids fighting over something that is total nonsense. Exactly that is what’s going on on a global scale between people and nations.
    However, we must never stop dream. We must never stop trying to make the world a better place. Together we can and will make it.
    It took many people with the same dream to build the state of Israel. It took many people with the same dream to found the labour movement in Europe to demand equal rights, honest salary and voting rights. Whenever good things have happened it has been because of many people sharing the same dream.
    Making the world perfect is impossible. But we must never stop trying.

  9. Thatdudeyouknow – thanks for your comment, how true, we must indeed never stop trying.

    Nothing is ever perfect but rather the imperfection is a challenge, if it is a challenge then we can conquer it. Not one man will conquer the world but, to quote from a good friend, a drop in the ocean makes many waves.

    Nothing is impossible if there is a dream, why should it be unless we choose for it to be?

    There will always be strife, war, starvation, homeless people… but what would the world be like if it didn’t have the people who cared in it?

  10. SF: One world, one soul. WOW. As impossible as it seems, it seems possible. Weird? I guess that is what hope is all about; believing in something even when it is impossible. And, the fact that you actually are “dreaming” the dream; that is totally intense. I can’t imagine that this world is too big to one day be able to hug you in 3D, no? And, as for the tears, they may not bring about change, but they cleanse us and prepare us for the change that we have within us to bring to the world. Peace out, girl….V.

  11. Awwwws *hugs*

    Love your description about the tears, so true and beautifully said. Almost as if they wash the dirt and much leaving a cleaner surface from which to work on πŸ˜€

    Thanks again for your kind words, forever dream the dreams we have for they can bring about untold unimaginable change… who would have ever thought the world was round!

  12. Thanks for your kind words on my post. My mom always told me, if you want friends…you have to be a friend. I think this is true in many circumstances… to recieve kindness you have to give it… to achieve goals you have to dream them… to create art you have to do it… if you want to change the world, it starts at home, with the only constant in this world.. God breathing His love and compassion through us, and us breathing it back onto those around us.

  13. Your mom sounds like one wise woman! Your words are so true, thank you, it gives me/us hope that there are so many people who want to make a difference, face adversity in the idea and make changes πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

