Oh what a perfect day

In light of recent postings of sad song lyrics by Ilegirl I find the need to share a song that I see as happy and always makes me want to close my eyes and dream…

This song always has mixed feelings, some think of it as sad, perhaps because of the melody… it all depends on how you look at it…

Today, it’s just a perfect day and I’m glad I spent it with you 🙂

Just a perfect day
drink Sangria in the park
And then later
when it gets dark, we go home

Just a perfect day
feed animals in the zoo
Then later
a movie, too, and then home

Oh, it’s such a perfect day
I’m glad I spend it with you
Oh, such a perfect day
You just keep me hanging on
You just keep me hanging on

Just a perfect day
problems all left alone
Weekenders on our own
it’s such fun

Just a perfect day
you made me forget myself
I thought I was
someone else, someone good

Oh, it’s such a perfect day
I’m glad I spent it with you
Oh, such a perfect day
You just keep me hanging on
You just keep me hanging on

You’re going to reap just what you sow
You’re going to reap just what you sow
You’re going to reap just what you sow
You’re going to reap just what you sow

4 thoughts on “Oh what a perfect day

  1. It is a beautiful song. but there is something in the words that has an underlying sense of sadness. Why does he need to forget himself, to think that he is somene good?
    I actually considered this as an entry for Ilegirl’s Sad Song, but there is to much ambivilence.

  2. Its a split-personality song all depends on the mood of the moment or perhaps it is more the memories that I have attached to this song.

    My interpretation of the sadness felt within the lyrics is much like during the dark days of life, when things just get so bad you are gripping the edge of life with your finger nails. A person comes a long that gives you such a perfect day, gives you hope, hope to believe in yourself and hope to keep on hanging on.

  3. It does have a darker side to it; I have never heard it before, and the darkness I cannot tell if it comes from the music in the background, or some of the words…….very soulfelt; that someone that keeps you going, keeps you afloat when you want to let go and float away from it all……I can sense all of that in it.

Leave a Reply

