In a box now deal with it… a mini rant on religion, sexuality and labels…

image

I am heterosexual

I am homosexual

I am bisexual

I am white

I am african

I am mixed

I am asian

I am latino

Tick, tick, tick

I am come from royalty

I know famous people

I have wealth

I am rich

tick, tick, TICK

Enough already do you honestly think that is all that matters? Here is the 2D version of me and see what you think… try it on for size

I am a white heterosexual female who knows famous people, has blue blood and although I come from a family of wealth and high standing, I am poor.

Now does that define who I am?

Is that who I am?

Is that what matters?

Now here is the big question, because I am not linked to a particular religion does this make me a sinner?

I am not a Jew, a Catholic, Anglican, Muslim or any other, does this make me a sinner?

I am not into the whole religion discussion, I read avidly but will never partake for the fact that I do not believe in any one religion and I refuse to be put into one such box.  I do not want to attack or argue one religion against the other either, I see that as pointless as in my views there is only one God and we all praise him differently. 

That said I do feel the need to say this, so many religious people throw stones but do not garden their own lawns.  How many of the below ten commandments are broken every day by men and woman of cloth?

ONE: ‘You shall have no other gods before Me.
TWO: ‘You shall not make for yourself a carved image–any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.
THREE: ‘You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain.
FOUR: ‘Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.
FIVE: ‘Honor your father and your mother.
SIX: ‘You shall not murder.
SEVEN: ‘You shall not commit adultery.
EIGHT: ‘You shall not steal.
NINE: ‘You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
TEN: ‘You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, nor his male servant, nor his female servant, nor his ox, nor his donkey, nor anything that is your neighbor’s.

[Those ten commandments are featured in most religions so no one escapes the following]

Now for the cracker…

Where in those commandments does it state that one persons race is better than the other?  The word Kaffir means non believer and is used by many when talking about certain race groups.  Why is it that your race is so much better than the other? Why? Who made up this assumption that a racial group is ingrates and not in the image of God. 

Now the mother load of crackers…

Where in those ten commandments does it say that being homosexual is a sin? Am I being stupid or blind? Please if I am wrong, correct me. Yes I know there is a whole book, many books in fact, written with guidelines on the do’s and don’ts.  But ultimately the ten commandments are the main rules right? The rest is mere Human interpretations passed down through the ages suffering from a bit of broken telephone and political manipulation.

Am I right in making the statement that in the Bible one particular character slept with his daughters while living in a cave and fathered his very own grandkids? I said correct me – breathe!

I don’t follow it on one particular day, to some this is a sin. Yes, I am a great sinner according to religion but am I in God’s eyes? Has religion gotten to a point whereby humans are allowed to judge what is and what isn’t sin? Has it gotten to the point where by the very people that say it is not for them to judge turn around and judge?

We’ll have to discuss moral compasses another time.

I follow those commandments loosely, I say loosely for the fact that I do not go to church and therefore do not practice the Sabbath thing. My understanding is that it is only one day of the week, mine is everyday.  I do not pray every morning nor do I pray every evening at set times, I pray when ever I want to and often have conversations that last hours with my God. 

This is how I see it, how I see the truth of God.  In my world each person is as God intended each with their own purpose and destiny. What we do with that destiny is ultimately our choice.   It is not what we are that matters at the end of the day rather it is who we are that counts.  Do we live in the image of God as was presumably intended or do we hide in the facade of religion and be selfish?

I know there are many arguments about all of this but this is my interpretation and my views on religion, sexuality and anything else that found its way into this.

At the end of the day I do not mind if you belong to a religion or whether you go to church, each to their own but don’t call me a sinner if I love a woman or a man and don’t call me a sinner if I don’t go to church or not. 

So here is what I stand for and what my “box” is

I don’t care what religion you belong to, be it organised or not, I do not care.  I do care if you try to force yours on me without respecting me enough to give me the opportunity to tell you about my not-religion.

I don’t care what colour or shade your skin is, you can be any colour in a box of smarties or a packet of M&M’s, I really don’t care. I do care when you try to tell me I am a certain way just because I am pink or blue, that colour does not make who I am or how I am.

I don’t care if you have a relationship with the same sex or opposite.  I do care if you treat them badly, if you abuse them, if you hurt them. 

I don’t care if you are rich or poor, whether you have a big house or a shack.  I do care if you treat others with respect and don’t use your situation for personal gain in the ego department or any other.

I don’t care if you are the CEO of a big company or if you are a Janitor working nights.  I care whether you care about others, if you respect and if you do what you can.

I don’t care about all the labels but I do care about all the souls for ultimately that is all that counts.

In the old days I’d probably be fried on a stake stuck in the ground – I have self adopted brothers and sisters of all racial and sexual groups.  The mere fact that I talk to each one and love them with my whole heart would have been seen as a direct sin against God and punishable by death.

How far have we come?

Take what you think you know about a person and throw it in the trash can.  Forget all your preconceived ideas and open yourself up to the true beauty of a person… their soul.

I hope this explains why I do not and quite possibly will not comment on posts about religion.  It is out of respect for your religion and more importantly your faith, all I ask is that you respect mine. 

Each to their own just remember I am very protective.  If you start going at someone while being a hypocrite or just plain mean then the gloves are off.

End of rant, thank you!image

Why do I love blogging? Because here I am colourless, I am sexless and religionless and YOU still talk me.  Why else do you think blogging is so popular?

Now I’m going to go dance in the rain because I WANT to and because I CAN and it makes me feel close to GOD

Post Note: This post was inspired by recent posts written by Vanessa, Amber, Lindsey and TDYK – I know there are many but these have stuck.

21 thoughts on “In a box now deal with it… a mini rant on religion, sexuality and labels…

  1. ISF, yet again, I second froggywoggie. The world should read this. They need to. In fact, everything controversial about religions, sexuality and labels are ONLY human perceptions. And yet, these humans would point the blame on those three things…

    I can say it no better than you already did, sister. Well said indeed! Cheers & hugs to you!

  2. Loved the post, and especially agreed to the I do care and I don’t care part…every bit it true..! And I can say, that it is the samething that I would follow…down to the bit core….! It’s just me that you wrote, guess similarity strikes again!

  3. “so many religious people throw stones but do not garden their own lawns” LOVE THIS!! I also have “no box” to check and I do not believe God would turn any of us away. At least not MY god.

  4. Amber hunz remember that post of yours about this well that sparked it then this weeks posts just got it stuck in my head and I thought “ok it wont leave my head and the only way to get it out is to write about it and oo I get to shock people with my lack of religion knowledge” viola Thank you for your kind words hun!

    Joy I am with you all the way *grins* glad we aren’t alone in our views

    TDYK I couldn’t agree more, hating a person and hating a persons deeds are two different things though I do not call it hate, hate is a very strong word… hmmm perhaps not. Ultimately there is always a reason behind someone doing something we don’t agree with or like. If you had written an essay I would have hired Amber and Lindsey to respond, your guys knowledge of religion and scripture is beyond me! 🙂

  5. Standing up clapping. Really doing it, not just writing it. I don’t know who made you mad this time – but the wrath of your fairness and love for humanity always humbles me and makes me feel so damn good to know you! Love ya lil sis . . . I hope I haven’t made you mad – I don’t think so . . . anyway I agree with you whole heartedly, people can become so judgemental, when God, as I know him or her or whatever, is about love. Sometimes when people get under my skin in blog world, I smile and still say PLL, but I often mean, Go F…K yourself – but still PLL. Well you must have had my feelings this week for you wrote everthing I felt. Thanks lil sis for being who you are! PLL, CordieB.

  6. Vanessa yers this post is about who we are, ultimately a person doesn’t have to like what you do but they can at least respect that perhaps you don’t like what they do either… neither is hate it is just personal choice. TDYK is this what you meant for this is my translation of what you said.

    Cordie I think it is an impossibility for you to make me mad, I love ya to big sis! You know I think I may have seen a few of those GFYPLL’s – new code name? Better yet how about this one gOOfy <- the O’s are eyeballs ya know that look. From now on when someone pisses the hell outa me I am going to sign off with that one how bout that? Kinda like a gentle fy 😀 hell yeah! Thank you for being you as well, who you are to me and who you are to the world! Mwah & hugs SF

  7. Tears rolling down eyes from laughing at your crazy self – gOOfy – priceless! So if you see me sign off as Peace, Light and Love gOOfy CordieB, or something to that effect, you will know what i mean and we all can have a private FU laugh at the as… hole of the moment. Girl, you are just too funny! (still laughing and tearing – i’ve got to go get my composure together before someone comes to my desk and asks if I’m alright – sheesh) PLL, CordieB.

  8. oh boy got another one ACE -> Aerosol Central Executive… so this is how I see it…

    “Thank you so much for those intelligent thoughts you really are an ACE, PLL gOOfy!”

    Yip for sure it works gonna add that to my “to use” list

    Aye it is quite a club!!! Just tell those work colleagues you are laughing with a mad south a-freak-an (as Amber calls it) they’ll just nod and go “yeah sure coffee?”

Leave a Reply

