I’m not afraid to live

This song was once sung to my by one of my closest and oldest friends on the day I left for England last year, it was sung with tears and love.  

I’m not afraid to die 
I’m not afraid to live 

Something is about to give 
I can feel it coming 
I think I know what it is 
I’m not afraid to die 
I’m not afraid to live 
And when I’m flat on my back 
I hope to feel like I did 

And hardness, it sets in 
You need some protection 
The thinner the skin 

I want you to know 
That you don’t need me anymore 
I want you to know 
You don’t need anyone 
Or anything at all 

Who’s to say where the wind will take you? 
Who’s to say what it is will break you? 
I don’t know, which way the wind will blow 

Who’s to know when the time has come around? 
Don’t want to see you cry 
I know that this is not goodbye 

It’s summer, I can taste the salt of the sea 
There’s a kite blowing out of control on the breeze 
I wonder what’s gonna happen to you 
You wonder what has happened to me… 

I’m a man, I’m not a child… 
A man who sees 
The shadow behind your eyes 

Who’s to say where the wind will take you? 
Who’s to say what it is will break you? 
I don’t know, where the wind will blow 

Who’s to know when the time has come around? 
I don’t want to see you cry 
I know that this is not goodbye 

Did I waste it? 
Not so much I couldn’t taste it 
Life should be fragrant 
Rooftop to the basement 

The last of the rock stars 
When hip hop drove the big cars 
In the time when new media 
Was the big idea 

That was the big idea

Leave a Reply

